Saturday, 3 March, 2007

The World’s Best Bread Knife?

Posted in Culinaria at 2:21 am by glpease

It’s a bold claim, but I’ll stand by it. I’ve never been excited by bread knives, thinking them more of a necessary evil than something I’d ever really shout about. But the Shun Kershaw Pure Komachi 8″ Bread Knife is both a real mouthful and a real gem of a kitchen tool.

It’s a little loud, almost psychedelic, with its yellow coating and transparent yellow handle, but in use, it’s all business. The curve of the ultra-sharp, serrated blade makes cutting through a loaf an effortless task, and that gaudy handle is really quite comfortable. The knife is very well balanced, and nothing seems to stick to the fluorinated surface coating. I’ve had mine for a couple months, now, and it continues to emerge victorious from every Battle of the Baguette, while never even breaking a sweat. Additionally, for those who don’t keep their knives shaving sharp, it’ll serve double-duty, gliding easily through tomatoes and other sometimes tricky-to-cut stuff. This may well be the best $20 I’ve spent on a kitchen knife. If you want one, too, click here to get one from The Knife Center.

While I’m at it, also highly recommended is the 7-1/8″ Stainless Damascus Santoku from A. G. Russell. While I still prefer the balance and speed of a more traditional chef’s knife for most of my preparation work, there are things at which the Santoku excels. The granton grooves help to keep foods from sticking or slowing down the cut, and the stainless damascus holds a superb edge that had proved quite durable. This is an almost perfect all-purpose knife. I’ve been using mine for over a year, and it’s holding up beautifully.

2 Comments »

  1. I had a little Kershaw assisted-opening knife for awhile, and it was the best knife I’ve ever owned – sturdy, well-balanced, and excellent at keeping its edge. Then I went and made the mistake of giving it to my father for Christmas.

  2. Anti-Aging said,

    for kitchen knife, i would always use ceramic kitchen knifes because they are sharper and tougher than steel knifes -;;


Leave a Reply

