Wednesday, 12 July, 2006

Shine On, Crazy Diamond – Syd Barrett Dead at 60

Posted in Music at 10:14 am by glpease

I’ll never forget the first time I heard “The Piper at the Gates of Dawn.” I was at my girlfriend’s house, and her brother put the record on. (Remember records?) Suddenly, I was aware that everything I thought I understood about music, being still rather musically conservative, immersed almost to the point of a drowning death in my classical training at this point, had been stuffed into a box, shaken, not stirred, into tiny little bits, tossed out onto the floor, and reassembled by a cackling madman. The combination of child-like simplicity and sheer genius was remarkable. At once, I was a Pink Floyd fan, and this album, and many others, accompanied me on more than a few of my own adventures.

Roger Keith “Syd” Barrett, architect of this musical madness, co-founder of Pink Floyd, is dead.
Though Syd left the band in 1968, not entirely of his own will, which some would argue was far from free, though who’s to say what sanity lies behind the mask of the insane, his influence on Pink Floyd’s music continued. Some of the edge of Barrett’s lunacy may have gone missing, along with his sanity, but something of his spirit continued to infuse the band’s work.

Alas, another legend has embarked on his ultimate journey. It’s time to spin some old vinyl. I can’t see you, Syd, but I’m sure you can me…

Flaming

Alone in the
clouds all blue
Lying on an eiderdown, yippee
You can’t see me but I can you

Lazing in the foggy dew
Sitting on a unicorn no fear
You can’t hear me but I can you

Watching buttercups cup the light
Sleeping on a dandelion too much
I won’t touch you but then I might

Streaming through the starlit skies
Travelling by telephone
Hey ho here we go
Ever so high

Alone in the clouds all blue
Lying on an eiderdown, yippee
You can’t see me but I can you

–Syd Barrett, Flaming

5 Comments »

  1. Tim Kinstler said,

    i too mourn the loss of the soul of pink floyd. they weren’t the same after he bowed out. “rock’ is at it’s best when made by adults with zeal of a child. i need to get a bike.

  2. glpease said,

    I’ve got a bike,
    you can ride it if you like…

  3. Roger Price said,

    A lot of things are and will change. Not only did you hear Pink Floyd but you felt the music and I still do to this day!

  4. Will Wright said,

    DEAD?! I had no idea!

    There was a king who ruled the land. His majesty was in command…

    I think I’ll smoke a pipe in honor of the piper: sitting in my home, in the spirit of the gnome, finding another way to say hooray.

  5. Ted said,

    A sad loss indeed. I dug out my vinyl “Piper at the Gates of Dawn’, saw the wear inflicted by the years and then went out and bought the CD.

    Still trying to get my daughter to listen to it without the comment “Weird!”


Leave a Reply

